Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Where The Heck Has The Year 2022 Gone?

Rodney Brazier

--

Part of me can’t believe I’m already writing another end-of-the-year article. Another part of me is beyond ready to say good riddance to 2022. Regardless of the year, life will always have its ups and downs. The obstacles and challenges we face build strength and character. Apparently, life decided that 2022 would be quite the strength and character-building year for me.

I understand now why my neurologist emphasizes to me at every appointment that I stay cool and don’t overdo it. We had a beautiful summer that was also hot by Western Washington standards. I did my best to avoid being in direct sunlight for too long. Our dog is a sun lover though, and I am too. I understand now that I must balance enjoying the sun and not getting too hot or overexerting myself. If I get too hot, my myasthenia gravis flares up, which makes me extremely weak and tired.

In nothing else, I learned a lot of valuable life lessons in 2022. One of those lessons was to never take issues with my vision for granted again. I’m incredibly blessed and fortunate to have complete vision in my left eye still. If you ever have any problems with your vision, please have them addressed immediately.

Within the last five weeks, I’ve discovered the joys of sciatic nerve pain. Actually, there’s nothing joyful or fun about sciatic nerve pain at all. To emphasize how…

--

--

Rodney Brazier

I’ve enjoyed writing since I was a child. I love to tell stories that people relate to and enjoy while talking about real-life situations.