Photo by Reed Geiger on Unsplash

What A Strange Start To October In Western Washington

Rodney Brazier

--

Usually, you have a good idea about what to expect as far as the weather is concerned in Western Washington in October. You expect the temperatures to be a lot cooler than they were during summer and the rainy season to be underway as well. October of 2022 has been an exception to that rule so far. Even local meteorologists have surprised looks on their faces when they talk about how nice it’s been.

There have been days this month that I’ve made as many wardrobe changes as a model at a fashion show. I’m pretty sure I’ve even asked the weather to make up my mind about what to wear today. No, I’m not crazy; maybe a little unwell at times. It’s pretty chilly in the mornings and nights here now. Therefore, my routine for October has been wearing a long sleeve shirt in the morning, a short sleeve shirt in the afternoon, and putting on a long sleeve shirt at night. It’s a good thing I’m the one who does laundry, and I have a lot of shirts too!

Within the first few days of this month, we had back-to-back days of temperatures in the low 80s. That was the first time that’s ever happened in Western Washington. On October 6th, our heater came on as we were waking up. The high temperature that afternoon was 79 degrees. As I publish this story, our overnight low yesterday was a chilly 40 degrees, and our heater came on again. That’s how…

--

--

Rodney Brazier

I’ve enjoyed writing since I was a child. I love to tell stories that people relate to and enjoy while talking about real-life situations.