Rodney Brazier
2 min readSep 16, 2020

--

Photo by Derek Truninger on Unsplash

I love music, I always have, and I always will. I can credit my mom, who’s no longer with us, for my love of a wide range of music. I can recall hearing mom listening to artists like Kenny Rogers, The Spinners, and Marvin Gaye. I even heard her listening to Led Zeppelin one time. This is no exaggeration. I’m very grateful that mom listened to so many different styles of music. This played a huge role in me loving a wide variety of music.

I can recall getting flack as a teenager because I enjoyed listening to music other than just Rhythm and Blues and Soul Music. Don’t get me wrong, I love classic Rhythm and Blues and Soul Music. I love listening to other genres of music as well. I find the notion that if you’re a certain ethnicity you’re only supposed to listen to a specific type of music ridiculous. I can recall being called a sellout because I love Rock and Country Music too, isn’t that ridiculous? My response to that is, if loving all kinds of music makes me a sellout, than so be it. I like to say that my range in music goes from the Temptations to The Eagles. Throw in some Kenny Chesney, along with Earth, Wind, and Fire, and Marvin Gaye too.

Music is a huge part of our lives. Think about it, through the years, there’s been background music in commercials and movies we’ve watched. I call Kenny Loggins mister theme music. Right off hand, I know he did the theme music for Footloose, Top Gun, and Caddy Shack. I’m pretty sure most people forty and over have seen at least one, if not all of these movies. I can’t imagine a world without music. I know it’s been a huge part of my life. I’m guessing it’s probably been a huge part of yours too. I truly appreciate you taking the time. Take care of yourself and your loved ones.

--

--

Rodney Brazier

I’ve enjoyed writing since I was a child. I love to tell stories that people relate to and enjoy while talking about real-life situations.