Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

Fall Is So Close Now You Can Feel It

Rodney Brazier

--

The summer of 2022 isn’t over, but I’ve noticed some hints of fall lately. In the last week, we had a couple of nights where the overnight lows were in the 40s. As long as I’ve lived in Western Washington, I was still surprised to see those temperatures in August. On Wednesday, August 10th, we had a thunderstorm that felt more like a November thunderstorm. Things got pretty intense for an August storm. Our lights flickered several times as the rain poured down and the thunder rolled through.

I love all the fun things that come with summer, but my skin doesn’t. I try to get out as much as possible to enjoy the nice weather while we have it. I’ve always had sensitive skin, but it seems more sensitive this summer. I hate to admit it, but I think my body is ready for the cooler fall temperatures. I love summer, but as someone getting a little longer in the tooth, I find myself having to be careful about too much direct sunlight and getting too hot.

Fall is so close now that I can feel it. One thing getting me excited about fall is the full slate of preseason NFL games this weekend. I know most of the starting players don’t play much in the preseason anymore, but it’s football damn it, and I love American football. I might like it a little too much during the regular season. It’s a good thing no one checks my blood pressure during games. The numbers I’d see…

--

--

Rodney Brazier

I’ve enjoyed writing since I was a child. I love to tell stories that people relate to and enjoy while talking about real-life situations.